ACB announces squad for T20I series against Sri Lanka

The Afghanistan Cricket Board’s National Selection Committee today named the squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka, set for Feb. 17-21 at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium.

Rashid Khan, Afghanistan’s regular T20I captain, is still recovering from back surgery and has not been included in the squad. Ibrahim Zadran, who captained Afghanistan in recent T20I series in UAE and India, will lead the team against Sri Lanka.

Mujeeb Ur Rahman is also absent from the squad due to a sprain in his right hand, sustained before the ODI series against Sri Lanka. Fast bowler Mohammad Saleem Safi, part of the squad for the India tour, is sidelined with a hamstring strain. Wafadar Momand has been recalled as his replacement.

Chief Selector Ahmad Shah Sulimankhil is focused on the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. “We’re closely watching the T20 World Cup and want to prepare a mix of junior and senior players. This series, along with the T20Is against Ireland in March, offers a chance to test our bench strength,” he said.

ACB CEO Naseeb Khan emphasized the development of young players. “We’re committed to nurturing young talent. Building strong bench strength is essential for us, as evidenced by Qais Ahmad’s current role for Rashid Khan.”

The Afghanistan squad for the T20I series against Sri Lanka includes: Ibrahim Zadran (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Mohammad Ishaq Rahimi (WK), Hazratullah Zazai, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Karim Janat, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Wafadar Momand, and Qais Ahmad.

Etisalat Afghanistan Telecommunication Company and Super Cola Beverages Manufacturing Group of Companies have secured sponsorship rights for the Afghanistan National Team for the series against Sri Lanka.