Cricket: Afghanistan achieve first-ever international victory against Pakistan

Afghanistan’s National Cricket Team. Photo: ACB

Afghanistan defeated Pakistan in the first match of a three-match T20I series in Sharjah, the United Arab Emirates, on Friday evening.

In this match, all-rounder Mohammad Nabi was on fire. He made 38 runs off 38 balls, not out, with his steady performance, Afghanistan completed the target of 93 runs while 13 runs were remaining.

He was also named man of the match.

Pakistan won the toss and decided to bat and made 92 runs in 20 overs, losing all its players.

Pakistan’s Imad Wasim made 18 runs while Saim Ayu made 17 runs. Other Pakistani players made from 2 to 12 runs before their wickets were taken by Afghanistan’s players.

When it comes to bowling, Mohammad Nabi, Mujeeb Rahman and Fazalhaq Farooqi each got two wickets. Rashid Khan, the captain, got one wicket and made 15 runs, but gave the best economy (3.75) after his teammate Fazalhaq Farooqi (3.25).

This was Pakistan’s first T20 international match after they lost to England in the final match of the last year’s T20 world cup. On the other side was Rashid Khan’s Afghanistan, which was coming off an impressive victory against UAE in the recent three-match series.

Shadab Khan was leading the Pakistani side after Babar Azam was asked by selectors to take a rest ahead of the looming World Cup this year. The series also provided the Pakistani players with a last chance to prove their mettle as selectors mull over finalizing their squads for the ICC World Cup 2023.

Afghanistan vs Pakistan T20 series full schedule

A total of three matches have been scheduled to be played between Afghanistan and Pakistan at Sharjah Cricket Stadium in Sharjah.

The second match will be played on Sunday, March 26, at 7:30pm Kabul time, while the third match will be held on Wednesday, March 29, at 7:30 pm Afghanistan time.

Afghanistan vs Pakistan head-to-head record

Afghanistan and Pakistan have met three times in the T20 cricket format. All three matches have been won by Pakistan. Friday night’s match was the forth.

Afghanistan vs Pakistan T20 series full squad

Afghanistan: Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Usman Ghani, Afsar Zazai(w), Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan(c), Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Karim Janat, Fareed Ahmad Malik, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Azmatullah Omarzai, Noor Ahmad, Sediqullah Atal

Pakistan: Saim Ayub, Abdullah Shafique, Shan Masood, Mohammad Haris, Iftikhar Ahmed, Azam Khan(w), Shadab Khan(c), Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Zaman Khan, Ihsanullah, Tayyab Tahir