Afghanistan unveils squad for T20I series against Ireland; Rashid Khan makes return

Afghanistan has announced its 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 International series against Ireland, starting March 15.

The announcement follows Afghanistan’s victory in a three-match One Day International series against the same opponent, securing a 2-0 lead.

Star spinner Rashid Khan is poised for a much-anticipated return to international cricket after an extended absence due to a back injury.

Rashid, a key player in Afghanistan’s cricket success, has been sidelined since the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. His absence was notably felt during the ODI series against Ireland, where his spin skills could have been pivotal. Rashid will captain the Afghan team in the T20 format against Ireland.

Rashid’s comeback is a significant boost for the Afghanistan team and the Gujarat Titans in the Indian Premier League. The franchise, which won the championship in 2022, eagerly anticipates the return of the dynamic all-rounder.

Rashid’s absence from various leagues and international matches has been a concern, but his return before the IPL season is welcomed by fans around the globe.

The squad also marks the return of spin wizard Mujeeb Ur Rahman, who, alongside Rashid, strengthens Afghanistan’s bowling arsenal. Other prominent members include Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, and Mohammad Nabi, offering a mix of experience and youthful energy.

Afghanistan T20I Squad for Ireland Series:

Rashid Khan (captain), Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicketkeeper), Sediq Atal, Ijaz Ahmadzai, Ishaq Rahimi (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Nabi, Nangyal Kharotai, Azmat Omarzai, Noor Ahmad, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Wafadar Momand, Farid Malik, Naveen Ul Haq, Fazal Haq Farooqi