Afghanistan announces squad for Sri Lanka ODIs

The Afghanistan Cricket Board’s National Selection Committee on Sunday announced the squad for the upcoming three-match One Day International (ODI) series against Sri Lanka.

The series is scheduled from Feb. 9 to 14 at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy, Sri Lanka.

Star leg-spinner Rashid Khan, still recovering from back surgery, is not included in the team. Qais Ahmad has been called up to fill the leg-spin role during Khan’s absence. Additionally, Naveed Zadran, who recently made his Test debut against Sri Lanka, is part of the ODI squad. Fast bowler Mohammad Saleem Safi, who played in the recent tour to India and made his Test debut against Sri Lanka, is sidelined due to a hamstring strain.

ACB CEO Naseeb Khan expressed optimism about the team’s continued involvement in bilateral cricket. “We’re committed to securing more bilateral matches and keeping our national teams active,” Khan said. “This is our third visit to Sri Lanka in the past 16 months, showing positive progress. The selectors have chosen a strong team, and we’re looking forward to an exciting series.”

The Afghanistan squad for the series against Sri Lanka includes: Hashmatullah Shahidi (captain), Rahmat Shah (vice-captain), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicketkeeper), Ikram Alikhil (wicketkeeper), Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Qais Ahmad, Noor Ahmad, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Naveed Zadran, and Farid Ahmad Malik.

Reserve players include Sharafuddin Ashraf, Shahidullah Kamal, Abdul Rahman Rahmani, and Bilal Sami.