Afghanistan recalls spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman for T20I series against India

Afghanistan has brought back spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman for their upcoming three-match T20I series against India. Mujeeb was absent from Afghanistan’s last T20I series in the UAE, as he participated in Australia’s Big Bash League (BBL) for the Melbourne Renegades.

However, his stint was cut short when the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) revoked his No Objection Certificate (NoC).

Mujeeb, along with pacers Naveen-ul-Haq and Fazalhaq Farooqi, had their eligibility to play in global T20 leagues suspended on Dec. 25 last year after they chose not to sign central contracts with the ACB. Consequently, the board has barred them from participating in foreign franchise tournaments for the next two years.

While Farooqi and Naveen played in the T20I series against UAE, which Afghanistan won 2-1, Mujeeb is set to play his first T20I since July 2023. The series against India, starting Jan. 11, is Afghanistan’s first bilateral series against the country.

“We are thrilled to embark on our first tour to India for a three-match series,” said ACB Chairman Mirwais Ashraf. “Competing against the top-ranked Indian team is a significant step for AfghanAtalan, who are no longer underdogs but have shown remarkable improvement recently. We anticipate a highly competitive series.”

Ibrahim Zadran, who captained Afghanistan against the UAE, will lead the team in India. Zadran steps in as Rashid Khan, the designated T20I captain, recovers from back surgery. Khan is included in the 19-member squad.

Afghanistan’s squad includes Ibrahim Zadran (captain), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicketkeeper), Ikram Alikhil (wicketkeeper), Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Azmaullah Omarzai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem, Qais Ahmad, Gulbadin Naib, and Rashid Khan.