Afghanistan: Dates for this year’s university entrance exam announced


The Taliban-run National Examination Authority announced June 6 as the start date for this year’s university entrance examination.

The authority stated that the examination will take place in five phases.

The first phase will run from June 6 to 9 and will include the provinces of Maidan Wardak, Logar, Parwan, Kapisa, Panjshir, Ghazni, Paktia, Paktika, Kunar, Zabul, Bamiyan, Samangan, Badghis, Herat, Ghor, and Nuristan.

The second phase will be held on June 21-22 in Kabul, and the third phase will take place on June 27-28 in the provinces of Takhar, Kunduz, Balkh, Jawzjan, Sar-e Pul, Faryab, Urozgan, Baghlan, Daikundi, and Badakhshan.

The fourth phase will include the provinces of Nangarhar, Laghman, Khost, Kandahar, Helmand, Farah, and Nimroz and will be held from July 4 to 7. The fifth phase will be for Afghan students who studied abroad and will be held on July 14.

This comes as girls from secondary schools have been barred from attending schooling for the past three years. Additionally, female students are prohibited from participating in university entrance exam and attending university.