Afghanistan: Heavy rain, snow and flooding forecast in 17 provinces

The Taliban’s Ministry of Transport and Civil Aviation issued a warning on Tuesday about heavy rainfall, snow, and potential flooding in 17 of Afghanistan’s 34 provinces. The ministry also predicted severe thunderstorms in these areas.

The affected provinces include Badakhshan, Takhar, Samangan, Balkh, Kunar, Paktia, Laghman, Parwan, Kabul, Panjshir, Kapisa, Khost, Nangarhar, Bamiyan, Maidan Wardak, Nuristan, and Logar. Rainfall amounts are expected to range from 15 to 30 millimeters.

This weather alert follows a report from the Taliban’s Ministry of Disaster Management, which stated that flash floods killed at least eight people in various provinces across Afghanistan last Saturday.