Afghanistan: Heavy rainfall, snowfall expected in 28 provinces

The Taliban’s Ministry of Transport and Aviation has issued a warning for heavy rainfall and snowfall accompanied by flash floods in 28 provinces.

The ministry, in a statement, listed the affected regions including Badakhshan, Takhar, Kunduz, Balkh, Samangan, Baghlan, Nuristan, Kunar, Laghman, Nangarhar, Sar-e Pol, Kapisa, Kabul, Maidan Wardak, Logar, Paktia, Khost, Paktika, Ghazni, Daykundi, Panjshir, Bamyan, Parwan, Zabul, Uruzgan, Kandahar, Helmand, and Ghor.

Rainfall is expected to range from 15 to 50 millimeters in various areas, according to the statement.

It also warns of severe winds with speeds between 20 to 80 kilometers per hour affecting the northern, northwestern, southern, southwestern, and central provinces of the country.