Nine Afghan detainees released by Pakistan return to Afghanistan

ISLAMABAD — Taliban’s Ministry of Refugees announced that nine Afghan nationals, previously detained by the Pakistani government, have returned to Afghanistan.

These individuals were held in Peshawar, a city in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province, on charges of lacking legal documentation.

In November, Pakistan implemented a policy requiring more than 1.73 million undocumented Afghan refugees to exit the country.

This move has been part of broader efforts to manage the refugee situation within its borders.

Pakistani media recently reported that the government, led by Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif, intends to restart the deportation of Afghan refugees by mid-April.