South Asia

Asif Ali Zardari elected 14th president of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD — Asif Ali Zardari, co-chairperson of the Pakistan Peoples Party, was elected the 14th president of Pakistan on Saturday, according to local media reports.

Zardari previously served as president from 2008 to 2013. The presidential election, which took place from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., saw Zardari backed by Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf party. Mahmood Khan Achakzai was considered Zardari’s main rival.

Ahead of the election, Pakistan’s Prime Minister, Shehbaz Sharif, also announced his support for Zardari.