Twelve teams vie in Afghanistan Buzkashi League

The fifth annual Afghanistan Buzkashi League, featuring 12 teams from various provinces, commenced in Kabul with matches in four groups. The league, which began on Tuesday, Dec. 25, will progress through a group stage before advancing to elimination rounds.

In Thursday’s matches, Kandahar achieved its first victory in the league by defeating Logar 8-1, while defending champions Samangan outplayed Panjshir with a 4-0 win. Baghlan is scheduled to face Takhar at 2 p.m. Kabul time.

Samangan, Panjshir, and Bamyan make up Group A; Baghlan, Takhar, and Sarpol are in Group B; Kunduz, Balkh, and Maidan Wardak are in Group C; and Kandahar, Badakhshan, and Logar form Group D.

The league opened with a match between Badakhshan and Kandahar on Dec. 25. The following day saw a contest between Bamiyan and Samangan.

Originally slated to begin earlier, the league faced a 15-day delay due to the closure of the Salang crossing, which impeded team access to the competition.