Six countries invited to join BRICS

Six countries have been extended invitations to become new members of BRICS, an emerging-market group, according to an announcement made during the 15th BRICS Summit in Johannesburg, South Africa.

The countries receiving the invitations are Argentina, Egypt, Ethiopia, Iran, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa disclosed the invitations during a press conference, stating, “We have decided to invite the Argentine Republic, the Arab Republic of Egypt, the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates, to become full members of BRICS. The membership will take effect from the first of January 2024.”

Interest in joining BRICS has been expressed by over 20 countries.

BRICS, comprised of Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa, represents approximately 40 percent of the global population and holds a significant share of the worldwide economy, amounting to around a quarter.