Iran reveals approved presidential candidates list

TEHRAN — Iranian media reported that the list of approved candidates for the upcoming presidential election has been finalized.

Among those qualified are Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf, Mostafa Pourmohammadi, Saeed Jalili, Alireza Zakani, Amir Hossein Ghazizadeh Hashemi, and Masoud Pezeshkian.

Notably, several prominent figures have been disqualified by the Guardian Council, including Mahmoud Ahmadinejad, Ali Larijani, Eshaq Jahangiri, Mehrdad Bazrpash, Vahid Haghanian, and Mohammad Mehdi Esmaili.

The 14th presidential election is scheduled to take place on June 28, following the death of President Ebrahim Raisi in a helicopter crash earlier this year.